History of Scoil na Coróine Mhuire
The original school building was built in 1952 as a two teacher school. In 1980, the new upper school was built under the leadership of Mr. Brendan Whelan with 6 classrooms, an all purpose room and an office. Mr. Tom McGann was appointed in principal in 1997 and a further classroom was added to the old building in 1998.
The 2000's saw rapid growth with temporary classrooms in 2002, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2012. Mr. Conan Daye took over as principal in 2013 and a further building was erected with 4 new classrooms. This is now our infant block.
Our new autism class, The Weir, will open in September 2022 and we look forward to this exciting new chapter for our school. We are currently in the planning stage for a brand new building which will include a state-of-the-art autism wing and three mainstream classrooms.
As you can see, our school has developed rapidly in recent years, creating many interesting spaces in amongst the larger buildings. Click here to see some of these spaces. We continue to develop our school grounds in imaginitive ways as we endeavour to create a fun and unique school environment for our pupils.